April 6: Napowrimo

If You Come Back

If you come back
I will breathe in and kiss
Every corner of your mouth

I will bathe your hair
Down your toes

I will anoint perfume
Those hands that fall to the ground

I will brush your chest 
Let my hair curl on every pore
So they throb with your heartbeat

I will hug you 
And let your lips taste
How long I have sat and waited
For you to come and carry the luggage
In my heart, 
My hurts
When you left

If you come back
I will whisper and confess
Words of my prayers
When every night I cry

I will tell you stories under a tree
While we’d watch stars glide
Till we tire and close our eyes
Holding each other’s hands

And even if your hands are cold
I wish I were there

I wish I were there –
And wait here 
No more.

Rosalinda Flores Martinez

Leave a Reply

