Come My Sons

huntprayerpoems

COME, MY SONS
ANNA LEE WALTERS

Come, my sons. Sit by my side and warm my hands with yours. For I fill with pride when one of you is near. Your presence is reassuring.

I have many things to say to each one of you. Lately, I have been preoccupied with thoughts that sneak into my mind. It is for this reason that I have called you by name, interrupting your play, insisting that you come to me.

My sons, you are my greatest offering to a people where many are weary from misused and unused lives. All that you are, all that you will be, it is I who have cleared the path.

You are yet boys. Soon you will be men. And I must set you free. You are my sons, but I do not know you. I can dream great dreams for you, but my dreams are…

View original post 1,839 more words

Leave a Reply

