A FAITH STORY

This June I got sick with upper respiratory infection because I got colds for a long time already. Also, I got soaked in the rain. I thought I was superwoman because I never got sick for long periods of time. It was only one or until three days that I was unwell, but I could still work in-between. This June was different because it was more than a week that I could not read nor write, so I got scared and found out that it was only God who had complete control over all our lives.

 

True, I was not superwoman. I was flesh from dust, but begotten by God in his grace and love. It was true that Jesus came to the world to manifest God’s great care and longing for us to be his children. Nietzsche must be wrong in saying “God is dead.”  The truth is “God is not dead.” There no real Superman. The man of steel is merely fiction. It is just a superhero film in a fictional universe.

 

God is not dead. He is truly amazing and so wonderful! He makes me realize a lot of things because I tell him I am bored. He knows my next thoughts and they are mean as I am always on the rush and have calculated days, months, even years. He reminds me “Don’t be anxious about tomorrow. Live one day at a time. God will take care of your tomorrow, too.” I understand he does not even forget the birds, so why would he forget me or us?

 

In Matthew, the disciples went to him and wakened him shouting, “Lord save us! We are sinking!”

 

But Jesus answered, “O you men of little faith! Why are you so frightened?” Then he stood up and rebuked the wind and waves, and the storm subsided and all was calm.

 

The disciples just sat there, awed. “Who is this?” they asked themselves, “that even the winds and the seas obey him?”

 

Maybe God buzzed my wavering faith. Maybe he wanted me to pray and love a lot. He wanted me to depend more on him and not on man’s fleeting knowledge. I am not a know-it-all person alone, only with others can I reach perfection and joy. Though flesh is weak,  bone is brittle or mind is limited,  the heart beats infinitely as God’s precious own. We are all God’s children and happiness as he breathed us life and a real beautiful world.

 

Thank you dear God for letting us build a big, big faith in Jesus Christ who never abandons us. How happy we should be!

 

 

From a text in Matthew, Jesus turned around and spoke to the woman, “Daughter” he said, “all is well! Your faith has healed you.” And the woman was well from that moment.

 

/rosevocations.rosevoc2 on huntprayerpoems

Leave a Reply

