HEREAFTER

H E R E A F T E R

Barred walls real as cloud frames on sky
Door free and open as fields that grow
Wind blowing dust on pavement gray
And chains on feet to ground below.

Must I die now? Do I dare so? 
My heart, speak not! My mind, shout go! 
Dare the woods and trail of thorns
No coming back, breathed holes in trough.

Every leap, time seething by 
Umber wet; bones scald in marrows 
Heal threads of seas – You and I 
Catching snows and flowers on mouth.

When are you just coming back? 
How many all, stars I’ve counted? 
Mounted on breasts, navel and spirit
My flesh, arrows spiked tombs and fane.

Incandescent fire and tender bliss
Know I live only for a time: 
As a wick fades, my flesh ends 
And next, a yellow sunset fence.

Seeds grow in umber fanes gold
Hands, waves on shores not weary up
Only human, I am so, un-god 
Of myth, limbs so frail, nailed gravity.

Succulent fruit of red and after
Mind drifts impure, feculent thief; 
Vines that crawl like serpent beasts
Thy sword, Saint Michael, in your fist! 

O Holy God, Almighty One, 
I search your light, Thy will be done
If after all, I must complain
Take all away, but You remain. 

rose flores rosevoc2

 /also on poemhunter.com

2 thoughts on “HEREAFTER

  1. This is a message to the webmaster. Your website is missing out on at least 300 visitors per day. I came to this page via Google but it was hard to find as you were not on the first page of search results. I have found a website which offers to dramatically increase your traffic to your website: http://voxseo.com/traffic/. I managed to get over 10,000 visitors per month using their services, you could also get lot more targeted traffic than you have now. Hope this helps 🙂 Take care.

  2. all the time i used to read smaller content that as
    well clear their motive, and that is also happening
    with this article which I am reading at this time.

Leave a Reply

